Pacquiao bagsak kay Mayweather sa Fighter of the Decade

Sinungkit ng undefeated boxer na si Floyd Mayweather Jr ang ‘Fighter of the Decade’ award mula sa Boxing Writers Association of America.

Sa nasabing parangal, kanyang pinataob sina Canel0 Alvarez, dating super middleweight at lightweight world champion Andre Ward, dating unified heavyweight champion Wladimir Klitschko at eight-time world division champion Manny Pacquiao.

Halos kalahating dekada lang lumaban si Mayweather, nagretiro noong 2015 matapos manalo kay Andre Berto at tanging mga exhibition match na lang ang nilahukan.

“Thank you to the Boxing Writers Association of America for voting me Fighter of the Decade,” saad sa statement ni Mayweather. “I am honored to be recognized by the media who covered my career throughout its many decades.

“Boxing has been a part of my life since I was 2 years old and I dedicated my life to it and gave it my all. I trained hard, showed up for every one of my fights and did my job successfully each and every time. To retire undefeated and achieve what I did in the sport is not only a gift to myself but to the fans and, most importantly, my team and family. I certainly didn’t do it alone and I appreciate anyone who played a part in it. Hard work and dedication — something I did for my entire career. I am grateful and humbled by this honor. Thank you so very much.”

Samantala, si Alvarez naman ang waging Fighter of the Year matapos talunin noong 2019 si Daniel Jacobs at Sergey Kovalev.

Makibahagi: Ano ang masasabi mo sa balita na ito?